Noisy scenes delay election in Palakkad municipality

Palakkad municipality elected its chairperson and vice chairperson after dramatic scenes that led to heated arguments between BJP and opposition councillors on Monday.

The dispute started when BJP’s senior councillor V. Natesan needed to withdraw his poll after “mistakenly” voting for the Left Democratic Entrance (LDF) candidate M.V. Usha within the chairperson election. Noisy scenes adopted because the LDF and the United Democratic Entrance (UDF) opposed Mr. Natesan’s try and the BJP councillors supported him. Mr. Natesan’s vote was later declared invalid.

BJP’s Ok. Priya was elected chairperson in Palakkad. She defeated UDF’s Jyothi Mani by 11 votes. When Ms. Priya acquired 27 votes, Ms. Mani polled 16 votes and LDF’s Ms. Usha, seven votes. BJP district president E. Krishnadas was elected vice chairperson.

The BJP has 28 seats within the 52-member council. The UDF has 14, the LDF has seven and the Welfare Celebration one. There are two unbiased members too. When an unbiased member stayed away from voting, Ok. Bhavadas, who was expelled from the Congress, and the Welfare Celebration member voted for the UDF.

LDF’s Ok.L. Kavitha was elected chairperson of Chittur Thathamangalam municipality. She defeated UDF’s Anita Kuttappan by a margin of 5 votes. Ms. Kavita acquired 17 votes when Ms. Anita acquired 12. The LDF has 16 members, the UDF 12 members, and the SDPI one member within the council. LDF’s M. Sivakumar was elected vice chairman. He defeated UDF’s Ok.C. Preet by a margin of 4 votes.

LDF’s P. Ramachandran was elected chairperson of Cherpulassery municipality. He polled 18 votes towards UDF’s Ok.M. Ishaq, who acquired 13 votes. When the lone Welfare Celebration member supported the UDF, two BJP members didn’t vote.

LDF’s Safna Parakkal was elected vice chairman in Cherpulassery. She defeated UDF’s V.P. Suharabi by polling 18 votes towards 13. Ms. Safna is a candidate of the CPI(M). The vice chairpersonship will probably be given to the CPI after two-and-a-half years.

LDF’s Janaki Devi and Ok. Rajesh had been elected chairperson and vice chairperson respectively of Ottapalam municipality. They defeated UDF’s and NDA’s candidates. The LDF has 16 members within the 36-member council. The UDF has 11 members and the NDA 9. The LDF will rule the municipality regardless of falling three seats in need of a easy majority.

In Mannarkkad municipality, UDF’s Fayeda Basheer was elected chairperson. He defeated LDF’s T.R. Sebastian by a margin of three votes. Mr. Basheer acquired 14 votes towards Mr. Sebastian’s 11 votes. Three NDA members and an unbiased stayed away from voting.

In Shoranur municipality, LDF’s M.Ok. Jayaprakash was elected chairperson. He polled 17 votes within the 33-member council, together with one vote by the SDPI member. The LDF has 16 members, the BJP 9 members, and the UDF seven members. LDF’s P. Sindhu was elected vice chairperson.

LDF’s O. Lakshmikutty was elected chairperson and We for Pattambi chief T.P. Shaji was elected vice chairperson of Pattambi municipality. When LDF polled 16 votes, the UDF acquired 11 votes. A lone BJP member stayed away from voting. The LDF wrested Pattambi in affiliation with the We for Pattambi collective led by Mr. Shaji, who was expelled by the Congress.

You’ve got reached your restrict at no cost articles this month.

Subscription Advantages Embrace

At present’s Paper

Discover mobile-friendly model of articles from the day’s newspaper in a single easy-to-read record.

Limitless Entry

Take pleasure in studying as many articles as you would like with none limitations.

Personalised suggestions

A choose record of articles that match your pursuits and tastes.

Quicker pages

Transfer easily between articles as our pages load immediately.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the newest updates, and managing your preferences.


We transient you on the newest and most essential developments, thrice a day.

Assist High quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans don’t presently embody the e-paper, crossword and print.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *