Kohli named ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade,MS fetches ‘Spirit of Cricket’ honour

Dubai: India captain Virat Kohli on Monday headlined the ICC prime honours for the last decade, successful the Sir Garfield Sobers award for the most effective male cricketer of the previous 10 years.

Kohli was additionally picked for the ODI Cricketer of the Decade award.


Former India skipper M S Dhoni received the ‘ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade’, chosen by followers for his gesture of calling again England batsman Ian Bell after a weird run out within the Nottingham Check in 2011.

The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) made the bulletins through twitter, bestowing the highest honours on Kohli, who scored 66 out of his 70 worldwide lots of, within the “ICC Awards” interval.

In the identical interval, he was additionally the batsman with most fifties (94), most runs (20396) moreover having the utmost common (56.97) amongst gamers with 70 plus innings.


Total, the 32-year-old has amassed 12040 runs in ODIs, 7318 runs in Checks and 2928 runs in T20 Internationals, averaging greater than 50 throughout codecs. Kohli was additionally a part of the World Cup-winning India squad in 2011, one thing he’ll cherish for all times.

The opposite nominees of the ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade have been R Ashwin, Joe Root, Kumar Sangakkara, Steve Smith, Ab de Villiers and Kane Williamson.

“Firstly, it’s an ideal honour for me to obtain this award. The moments I maintain closest to my coronary heart within the final decade positively must be the World Cup win in 2011, the Champions Trophy win in 2013 and successful the collection in Australia in 2018,” stated Kohli in an announcement.


On Sunday, Kohli was the lone participant to be named in groups of the last decade throughout codecs and was named captain of the Check all-stars.

On being additionally named the ODI Cricketer of the Decade, Kohli added: “ODI cricket is one thing that I took to very early. I got here to the ODI crew first after which, I made my Check debut a few years later.

“So, I received the understanding of my sport fairly quickly, fairly early. And as I discussed earlier than, my solely intention and mindset was to make successful contributions for the crew and I simply tried to do each sport that I play.


“I by no means focussed on stats and numbers alongside the journey in any respect and people issues simply turn out to be the by-product of what you do on the sector and people for me, simply find yourself being milestones that you just cross on the best way to the trail to victory.”  

For the ODI honour, Kohli was the one participant with 10,000 plus runs within the “ICC Awards” interval together with 39 lots of and 48 fifties at a mean of 61.83.

Kohli, who flew again dwelling after the primary Check in Australia, was earlier named skipper of the ICC Check Crew of the Decade and was the one participant to be named in groups of the three codecs.


He’s already India’s most profitable captain within the longest format with 33 Check victories. He has Check lots of in seven of the eight nations he has performed in with six double lots of in 2016 and 2017 mixed, a golden interval in his long-format profession.

The world governing physique named Australian batting mainstay Steve Smith the Check Cricketer of the Decade and Afghanistan star Rashid Khan because the T20 Cricketer of the Decade.

Australia’s Elysse Perry swept the ladies’s awards, securing the ICC Feminine Cricketer of the Decade honours alongside ODI and T20 Cricketers of the Decade award.


The award winners:

* Virat Kohli (Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade).
* Ellyse Perry (Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for ICC Feminine Cricketer of the Decade).
* Steve Smith (ICC Males’s Check Cricketer of the Decade).
* Virat Kohli (ICC Males’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade).
* Ellyse Perry (ICC Ladies’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade).
* Rashid Khan (ICC Males’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade).
* Ellyse Perry (ICC Ladies’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade).
* Kyle Coetzer (ICC Males’s Affiliate Cricketer of the Decade)     


* Kathryn Bryce (ICC Ladies’s Affiliate Cricketer of the Decade)     

* MS Dhoni (ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *