J&Okay DDC ballot outcomes: Gupkar alliance maintains lead; BJP forward in 18 seats

The seven-party Gupkar alliance led by Farooq Abdullah was forward within the seat tally within the maiden District Improvement Council polls in by profitable or main in 112 seats out of 280 on Tuesday, adopted by the which had gained 52 seats, together with three within the Kashmir valley for the primary time, and was frontrunner in 18.

The Individuals’s Alliance for (PAGD) has bagged 82 seats and is main in 30. Thirty-eight Independents, primarily disgruntled leaders from all political events, have been declared winners and the identical quantity are main in different seats.

The Apni Social gathering (JKAP) put up a dismal efficiency by bagging seven seats and main in one other 5. The Congress has to date gained 19 seats and is main in 9 different council seats.

The eight-phase DDC polls, which started on November 28, can also be the primary election after Jammu and Kashmir’s particular standing below Article 370 was revoked final yr and it was reorganised right into a Union Territory. Within the election, 140 seats every within the areas went to polls.

The developments in most seats within the DDC elections are in accordance with expectations – the maintained its power within the Jammu division whereas the PAGD, which incorporates regional heavyweights the Convention (NC) and the Individuals’s Democratic Social gathering (PDP), is forward in Kashmir, in addition to Pir Panchal and the Chenab Valley areas of Jammu.

A day forward of counting of votes, authorities had detained a number of PDP and second-rung NC leaders, together with Naeem Akhtar, Sartaj Madni, Peer Mansoor and Hilal Ahmad Lone. No cause was given for the detentions.

Senior PDP chief Waheed Parra, who’s at current in jail after the Investigation Company (NIA) arrested him in a terror funding case, gained from Pulwama-1 and polled 1,323 votes in opposition to BJP’s Sajjad Ahmed Raina who polled solely 321 votes.

The had one thing to cheer about within the Kashmir Valley as three of its candidates, Aijaz Hussain, Aijaz Ahmad Khan and Minha Lateef gained from Khonmoh-II seat in Srinagar, Tulail seat in Bandipora district and Kakpora in Pulwama respectively.

That is for the primary time the BJP has registered a win within the Valley whereas dealing with regional heavyweights just like the NC and the PDP.

Highlighting the wins within the Kashmir Valley, BJP basic secretary Vibodh Gupta congratulated victorious celebration candidates, particularly those that had gained in Kashmir, and mentioned the folks of the Valley have exhibited their religion within the management of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“The folks of Kashmir exhibited their religion in Hon’ble PM Narendra Modi’s imaginative and prescient of Naya Kashmir, and sabka saath, sabka vikas, sabka vishwas,” Gupta, who can also be the celebration’s in-charge for Kashmir, mentioned.

He mentioned the victories mark a “change of wave” within the Valley and added that the maiden victory in Kashmir “communicate of two tales — certainly one of a tricky struggle by the BJP, marking the start of a brand new period within the Valley, and the opposite of conveying a robust message to Gupkar Gang that the top of their communal and divisive politics is close to.”

Senior BJP chief and Union minister Jitendra Singh mentioned, Three BJP candidates have gained from Srinagar. It’s testimony to the truth that folks of Jammu and Kashmir consider in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s imaginative and prescient for the event of the Union Territory.

He mentioned the BJP has emerged as a pan-Jammu and Kashmir celebration after the DDC elections outcomes and it’s acceptable to the folks of the area.

Nevertheless, PDP president Mehbooba Mufti and NC vice chairman Omar Abdullah mentioned the outcomes of the DDC elections have made it clear that the folks of Jammu and Kashmir have voted for the Gupkar alliance and rejected the Centre’s resolution to abrogate Article 370.

Abdullah was fast sufficient to counter the BJP’s claims, tweeting, “I perceive the temptation to over play the three seats the BJP has gained within the valley however why underplay the 35 wins/leads of the @JKPAGD in Jammu province.

“We aren’t Kashmir based mostly events, we’re political events with robust help in each Kashmir AND Jammu,” the NC chief tweeted

Reacting to the outcomes, Abdullah instructed PTI that the outcomes and rising developments of the DDC polls ought to be an eye-opener for the BJP and its “proxy political celebration”. He was apparently referring the JKAP.

Right this moment’s DDC outcomes have made it clear that folks of J&Okay voted en masse for @JKPAGD thus rejecting the unconstitutional resolution to abrogate Article 370. They’ve overwhelmingly supported @JKPAGD which stands for restoration of J&Ks particular standing, the PDP president mentioned.

Senior Congress chief P Chidambaram mentioned the DDC election outcomes present that the voters of Kashmir valley have firmly rejected the BJP and its “misguided” Kashmir coverage

On August 5 final yr, the Centre had revoked the particular standing of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir and divided it into union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

BJP’s former minister Shakti Raj Parihar was trailing from each his seats in Doda district, whereas former ministers Aijaz Khan (JKAP) and Abdul Gani Malik (NC) emerged victorious from Thuroo constituency and Mahore constituency in Reasi district.

Among the many distinguished loser from Kashmir was Naseer Ahmad Mir, son of state Congress chief Ghulam Ahmad Mir. He misplaced to an impartial candidate Peer Shahbaz Ahmad.

(Solely the headline and movie of this report could have been reworked by the Enterprise Commonplace employees; the remainder of the content material is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *